My Date with Elizabeth Perkins (not really)

Before I wax poetic about this comedy….which I think is a fairly amusing half hour, I have to tell you all about my meeting Elizabeth Perkins.She is, after all, the reason I started watching this show.

I met Elizabeth in New York City for a drink. No, it wasn’t a blind date. At the time, I wish it had been. [I'm happily married now.] But back then I was an editor of a major TV magazine and the interview with Elizabeth was set up for me.

So I slapped on a tie, a sports coat and jeans and… looking pretty cool, I took Amtrak from Philly, where I worked, to the big city, where I grew up.

She was on time and she was funny. We got to talking about movies we loved and when I asked her to recommend her current favorite movie, she shouted out EVIL DEAD 2.

Zounds! She said it was a hilarious gore fest. She loved the director, Sam Raimi (whom she had never met, but wanted to).

Evil Dead 2, of course is a classic cult movie.

That’s when I started following Elizabeth’s career.

I wrote the article. She liked it. We corresponded for a while.

Even now, years later, I still follow her career. Which brings me to tonights comedy.

Give it a shot.

For my old pal Liz.

How to Live With Your Parents (For the Rest of Your Life)

ABC 9:31 PM ET
How to Live With Your Parents (For the Rest of Your Life)

After Polly and Julian (Sarah Chalke, Jon Dore) break the news to Natalie (Rachel Eggleston) that they won’t be going camping together this year, the girl invents an imaginary bully as a way of coping with her parents’ split. Elaine (Elizabeth Perkins) coerces Max (Brad Garrett) into paying a visit to a dying relative in the new episode “How to Not Screw Up Your Kid.”

Leave a Reply

