A Shout Out for the ‘Huskers

I write this from Penn State country, but I’ve become a big fan of the Nebraska Cornhuskers football team.

Okay, I know this is a column about TV and not sports, but the reason I’ve become a fan of the Huskers has absolutely nothing to do with sports and everything to do with a video of the team I saw on You Tube.

Are you with me now?

I can be a cynical bastard sometimes, but the other day I was checking out some videos and what showed up but something that actually made me cry with joy.

Seems like a young kid with brain cancer (forgive me if I have the ailment wrong…but the point is, he’s very very sick) had this make a wish dream to play with his favorite team, the Cornhuskers.

The video was taken during their spring practice game. The offensive and defensive players rigged it so that after the ball is hiked, the kid gets the ball, sweeps right and runs for a 60 yard touchdown.

He does it and then is surrounded by all these hulking players who high five him, pick him up, cheer him on.

It is an absolutely beautiful, HUMAN moment and I instantly became a fan of the team. What a cool, cool thing to do.

Go to You Tube, type in Nebraska Cornhuskers help kid…or something like that … and watch a 1 minute video that will absolutely move you to tears.

Leave a Reply

